random rancid rambles

By rancidand

Shooting blanks

A bizarre museum. Large parts being restored, the whole art gallery closed down as a dangerous building and the contemporary art gallery being more interested in Trains, Ashoka Leyland trucks and buses, and mining. Until you got to the second floor, which had some hideous portraits of military men in full regalia painted by artists from the UK.

I checked out the children's museum, which also had the builders in, and found some interesting displays on costumes from the regions of India, and then lost faith when I saw what they had for Europe, UK and USA. In the UK we either dress in full military kilts or as beefeaters, or as a wierd petticoated doll from North Wales. Still at least we aren't a bunch of barbies like the US.

Anyway, thanks to the rickshaw man insisting on taking me to a few craft shops I have some "old" wooden things to look at in my bare apartment. Unfortunately for him none were expensive enough to mean he could claim commission.

Actually I did quite a lot of shopping this weekend.


Backblipped the rest of the Chennai trip - but the rest are all beach pics.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.