random rancid rambles

By rancidand

Copper

Having protested at being touted round Chennai's tourist shops I bought something in 3 shops. So thats why rikshaw drivers keep doing it - we say no, no, no and they see the evidence of our purchases. Unfortunately for the driver I balked at the absolutely lovely "old" wooden box when the starting price was over 50GPB. There was no provenance to justify that price. The guy did the usual of asking me to name my price but I refuse to play that game, I just say I'm not willing to insult him. Reason being that once I come up with a number I'm committed. Say I reckoned it would be worth 30GPB in the UK and thus suggest 20GPB. If he says yes I have no choice but to go through with it, and then I woudl think I'd been ripped off and I may not even really want it. He came down to 41GPB but I walked. The Rickshaw wallah gets comission if I spend over 20GPB apparently.

So having seen a lovely box I decided I needed something to decorate the flat - it is so bare. So when this lovely little box was located at about 7GPB I had to have it, no haggling - and NO I DON'T WANT TO LOOK AT PASHMINAS. Apparently it is copper and bronze work and I've forgotten the wood type.

Back in Pune my driver never showed so after a while I went for a Rickshaw. There was a long line of them. I paid at the fixed price booth and moved towards the line, "No - this is your driver" they say so I follow a guy away from the ricks. He sticks his key into one of those old man scootery moped things that used to be common about 30 years ago in the UK. I jokingly point at the back seat and mimic getting on which everyone thinks is hugely funny, and then something clicks with them. "Yes, get on". Now its my turn to look worried.

So I get on. Yes mum, no helmet. I'm beginning to piece it together and I am pretty sure this is not my transport home. He tsakes me to the other car park about 20 metres away where I get into his Rick. I think he had oringinally intended to use the moped to go get his Rick and bring it back to me, but I gave him th eopportunity to give everyone a laugh.

Listening to: Be Bop Deluxe
DKs - Fresh Fruit for Rotting Veg

One downside of having all music on a medium that displays alphabetically - higher alphabetical entries get played more

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.