The Judgement

Son Alex and daughter-in-law Hannah own a Vauxhall Viva saloon car which Alex has “done up”. They are staying with us this weekend. The Vauxhall displaced my Suzuki in the carport overnight. This was to keep it pristine and free of droppings from birds nesting in the trees in the garden. Never mind about my vehicle…. They came over here from Nelson to attend the New Zealand Vauxhall Car Club rally being held this weekend here in Blenheim.
“Take your camera there Mum” he said. “There will be lots of cool cars and lots of chrome to photograph.” And there were. Some cars took me right back to my youth when in my teens, I and a car-mad school friend used to know every model of car on the road. There were lots of Vauxhalls around in the 1950s. We used to check them out as we biked across town to school and fantasize over the sort of car we would own when we grew up. Hah! I bet the car-mad males in my family never knew that!
In this image of a very flash 1956 model the judge, John G, was just about to start examining it….with clipboard in hand…. Car rallies are very serious business here in New Zealand…..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.