sophiejo73

By sophiejo73

Farewell for now, Farringdon

Four days of the four-hour there-and-back journey to Farringdon this week. I am not cut out to get up at 6 am in the dark - is anybody? I finished the first draft of the website copy I'd been tasked with putting together this week, and filed the document, the references and the resources I'd used neatly in folders that I created on the company's server.

At lunchtime, I'd been out and bought a load of Hallowe'en sweets and put them in an orange bucket with a pumpkin face on it by way of saying 'fangs' to the agency for having me. I was pleasantly surprised to receive a couple of really nice emails from some of the people there thanking me for my 'hard work' and saying I'd been a 'saving grace' with my 'consistent and calming influence throughout the past few months'. It's so funny, because I've been working in isolation so much that I'd begun to get paranoid that they were all thinking I was a waste of space and couldn't wait for me to leave! It would appear not from that feedback. Lesson learned: next time I don't receive any feedback I should just ask for it - in this case it was far better to know than to not know!

The past three years since I became my own boss have been great from a workflow perspective. As one project has come to an end, there has almost always been another one waiting for me to start. Serendipitous. As I was sitting in Farringdon pondering what the next few months would bring, I got an email from an agency in Oxfordshire that I originally worked for 12 years ago. I've always kept in touch with them - they're old friends now - and I have done quite a lot of work with them this year. They asked me to go in early next week purely to work on ideas.

I've missed the more creative side of the job lately, so it will be a lovely change - even though I do take pride in the other type of work I've been doing in recent weeks which has been more checking for errors and putting together factual copy.

I took this shot of Marylebone station as I was walking out of it this morning. I love this station, it's beautiful. In fact, I love all train stations and thinking of all the people coming and going: starting adventures, ending adventures. I wish trains were still the old fashioned kind. I remember the six seater carriages where you all faced one another - so evocative, so much potential for strangers to meet and tell each other their stories...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.