A nice welcome

Blipping early in case my phone runs out of battery.. we landed at Heathrow just before 7am and whizzed along the Piccadilly Line towards Euston. Everything seems very efficient here, lots of people on the streets, rushing about.
We have a few hours to while away before catching the train back to Dumfries. One of us stays with the luggage while the other wanders about. I've been to Friends House (Quaker head office) , opposite the station, for a cup of coffee. It's a welcoming place with a garden outside, and a Fairtrade cafe, restaurant and bookshop inside. Sadly the restaurant is closed on Saturdays so I will be having lunch at the Wellcome Collection later on.
When I saw this message on the carpet at Friends House, it made me wonder what kind of welcome we give to visitors to our country. I have been made so welcome in Ethiopia and everyone I met had a big smile on their faces, offering the greeting "Salaam" ("Peace") to us as we passed by. The biggest smile I've seen today was on the face of the lady selling Big Issues on the Euston Road and I thanked her for it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.