The bark is worse

Mwynheais i'r dosbarth Cymraeg ddoe. Roedd rhaid i mi ddefnyddio llawer o ramadeg fy mod i ddim yn defnyddio yn gyffredinol. Roedd e'n y rheswm i mi ymuno'r dosbarth - mae'n anodd, ond mae'n ddiddorol. Sylwais i rywbeth am eiriau sy’n dechrau gyda 'cyf' - geiriau fel 'cyfweliad' a 'cyfieithu'. Mae'r ystyr 'cyf' rhywbeth fel 'gilydd'. Felly cyfweliad yw 'cyf'+'gweld' a 'cyfieithu' yw 'cyf'+'iaith'. Diddorol iawn.

I enjoyed the Welsh class yesterday. I had to use a lot of grammar that I do not use generally. It was the reason I joined the class - it's hard, but it is interesting. I noticed something about words that start with 'cyf' - words like 'cyfweliad' ('interview') and 'cyfieithu' ('translation'). The meaning of 'cyf' is something like 'together'. So interview is 'cyf' + 'gweld' (together-see) and 'translation' is 'cyf' + 'iaith' (together-language). Very interesting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.