Hidden alley

Worry. Why do I let myself worry? What in the world can I do?

Earlier this week, I found myself singing these alternative lyrics, humming the tune or just thinking them a few more times than just the once.

Do I subconsciously try to tell myself things?

There was a moment when worry consumed me and there was nothing sensible I could do about it. The lyrics arrived later that day.

I have realised that worry can start as a feeling and I have to dig around for what's causing it. It's amazing how you can have that feeling and not be sure why it's there until you really go through your day. Once I've found the origin, the feeling eventually goes away as I work out what to do. Sometimes, it's really daft and as soon as I acknowledge it, it's gone.

So, some part of me must already be aware of the worry to get the initial feeling.

Being a worrier isn’t intrinsic. But I have my moments in certain situations. That one has subsided now. But it was the subconscious part really that I was fascinated by.

On a different thread, I had the most lovely early birthday lunch with my mum and dad who came over to see me today. It's always special to spend time together and today was no exception.

I'm now hunkered down in the van, choosing to return to the north east coast which is growing on me more and more. (I'm needing to give my Crunchie knees a break too – maybe I eat too many!) So that, combined with the good coastal forecast, had me arriving in Robin Hood’s Bay for a little explore in the dark. Gazing into the star filled sky tonight was incredible and the streets were wonderfully atmospheric, with old fashioned street lamps and hints of chimney smoke in the damp sea air.

Looking forward to seeing it in the daylight tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.