A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

March1March1March1

Ironically, after yesterday's feel-sorry-for-me blip, I am feeling right today. The day started with my neighbor book club - we read The Girl Who Played with Fire by Steig Larsson. It's intriguing story #2 in a trilogy. Then I had a doctor's appointment followed by a visit to the lab - not my favorite thing, I can tell you, but did have a nice chat with the lab technician before he poked around looking for my blood. We talked about trans-fats, which, you may not know, is one of my favorite subjects. Has been for twenty years. I've watched many eyes glaze over as I described the process of hydrogenation to people who didn't care. But now of course, it's mainstream news. Most people's eyes still glaze over though, but this guy actually brought it up. Poor fellow - didn't know what he was in for.

Where was I. . . Oh, then I stopped at the health food store, because seeing the doctor always makes me think I could be doing more for my health. Tried this extreme green mix stuff. It's got everything a person needs, like wheat grass, algae, chloro-something, and a bunch of other stuff. I tried a couple teaspoonfuls in a glass of water when I got home. It wasn't very good. In fact, it was downright horrible, gritty, ick. But I'm thinking it will cure what ails me, so tomorrow I'll try it again.

Then I headed to the chiropractor (my gosh I sound like a fanatic) and on the way I saw the sun peek through the clouds so I snapped off a few pics through the windshield. That little bit of sun really lifted my spirits because I suddenly saw that my environment is looking a lot like spring. The snow is melting and the birds are singing (a little). On top of that I was suddenly reminded what March 1st means. It means that January and February are behind us!!! And even though we don't typically see much of anything resembling spring, I know for a fact that winter is not ahead, it's behind us now. WhooooHOOOOO!

Confession: Immediately following the cocktail of horrible green stuff, I ate half a bag of salt and vinegar potato chips. It's all about balance, right?

A year ago I was missing my mom and today was no different.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.