PINK COMB - PINKTOBER 26

I was wondering whatever I would use for my BCAM pink challenge today when we stopped at Cholderton Farm Shop on the way home to Wiltshire.

There weren't quite so many of the Belgian Bearded d'Uccle hens or cockerels about since we were last here, but this one caught my eye and I think I can safely say that the comb is pink!

This variety, first bred in the town of Uccle on the outskirts of Brussels, Belgium, is called Mille Fleur - in French, "Mille Fleur" translates as "Thousand Flowers", a poetic name appropriate for such magnificent plumage. The Mille Fleur pattern consists of a base of warm mahogany feathers, each one marked with a black crescent-moon, and tipped with a silver spangle.

After a lunch of soup, followed by quiche and salad, we opted to share a piece of bread pudding - made by Kate - who had recognised us from our previous visit - she also remembered that I had left one of my Post-it Notes, so I left another one!

We are now safely home, the heating is on (full blast, I might add!), the stairs have been conquered, the unpacking done but the washing can wait for a day or two. It was good to see our garden looking so good - for which I am thankful, as I don’t think I will be out there doing things anytime soon - Mr. HCB will be able to "potter in peace"!

Please click on this LINK for a few more days to enable those who cannot afford it to have a free mammogram. Thank you.

Thank you for putting my two little girls in pink anoraks in the Spotlight yesterday - we shall miss the beach, but look forward to the autumn colours all around now we are back at home.

"When you’re safe at home
you wish you were having an adventure;
when you’re having an adventure
you wish you were safe at home!”
Thornton Wilder

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.