Bittersweet vines

Time to make a wreath or swag out of the bittersweet I have been growing in the far back for3 years. Two vines (male & female) are required. Except when I bought them there was no way to know if a marriage had taken place. And later I read that they may not be American bittersweet with the red and orange berries but the Chinese variety. So, this fall I saw yellow -orange balls on one vine that grows around itself behind wire. The other trails about 30 feet up a dead pine tree. It was not until I clipped some of the branches and left them to dry that I discovered this the real genuine Bittersweet vince I have been awaiting.
So, clipped more and am ready to make a large wreath. Set up the table and there popped up Gracie T-t to be part of the blip... of course. you can get a good look at one of her twinkle-toes here, too.
I notice that the balls are still mostly closed. I shall take another view when they open to show the bright berries.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.