White Galloway

Yesterday I blipped a group of young white cows that had appeared in the field below our house. However, a rather wonderful looking sheep took the limelight and the cows disappeared into the background. To me they were just white cows, but unbeknown to me High Pike blipped the same cows and called them White Galloways.

The question of whether they really are White Galloways was raised by Gladders, as he had learnt how to recognise them. I found out later that High Pike had named them quite confidently, as the farmer himself had told him what they were. The same farmer has Belted Galloways and I have blipped those before.

So today I was determined to blip a close up that would show that they really are Galloways. The field is a long narrow one and, as the cows spend the whole day working their way from one end to another, I had to wait all day for them to get anywhere close to where I could take a picture. Even then, they were not that close and were continuously heads down, eating.

So here is the best I can do – a young White Galloway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.