Memory lane part 2

Following on from my roller skating memory from a couple of weeks ago, I today revisited the old street where I lived.
This street is also where my schools (infant & primary) were.

It was strange seeing how much things have changed.

My old infant school (top photo) looks relatively unchanged. I remember my first day there: I screamed the place down as I thought my Mum had abandoned me forever.

I met my first 'boyfriend' (Trevor) there; I think we were both aged about 5 and we were nominated as 'King & Queen' of the Christmas party. We met again as teenagers and dated properly for a short while.

We saw him a month or so ago, turns out he used to work with Mr A. Small world eh?!
He didn't recognise me, but I have the annoying habit that I rarely forget a face, so I remembered him clearly; he hasn't changed much at all.

The middle photo is the site of my old junior school. This was demolished several years ago and it appears to have some sort of housing (maybe sheltered?) development there now.
It was here where I learned how to do handstands against the wall, and at one time, I could squeeze quite easily through the railings. I don't even think my arm would for through now!!
I met my best friend Caroline here; she was the one I hung out with at night with the ghetto blaster (from the last blip). We both had a massive crush on Mr Carter (our 4th year teacher), or 'Vince' as we called him not to his face!!. He was a poor mans Tom Selleck but we thought he was the bees knees.

The bottom photo is the new school, which is sited on the old field where I spent many a happy hour playing out.

From the top of the hill, I could see the back of my house and my Mum was happy for me to play there as she could see me from the bedroom window and shout me in for tea from the back door!

There were trees at the top of the hill; the biggest one always had a rope swing. My friend Vicky Gregson broke her ankle during one swing session. I blame her long legs!
The back of her foot hit one of the roots of the tree that were sticking up from the ground; I still remember the noise of it (& her!) and the way her foot flopped about on the end of her leg.

I was the heroine....running down the hill to home to get my stepdad to come and get Vicky and my Mum to call the ambulance!
I avoided the swing for about a week after that!

In winter, we would sledge down the hill and in summer I spent hours on my go cart; made by my stepdad out of old bits of wood and pram wheels.
It's amazing how that kept me entertained....kids today don't know what they're missing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.