Nothing is worth more

By libbys

I will lift up mine eyes

...to the hills. The view from Comiston Road this early afternoon, snow glistening still on the Pentlands and the light stunningly blue and clear. i love the fact that living as I do in Morningside I can look to the hills and open country so easily.

I was on my way to a funeral service when I took this shot, the wife of a longstanding member of our cycling club. It was a simple, straightforward, honest kind of funeral in a simple, open church, where everything that was said felt meant.

Afterwards, three of us, including my good friend the gardener, dropped in to visit Inveresk Lodge Garden, another hidden gem of a garden with many different kinds of plantings - great trees, terraced borders, wild reedbeds and bogland, and the remains of an orchard. The aconites were vividly open and flowering bright yellow, different species of snowdrops clustered under winter trees, a daphne was beginning to flower and send out her scent and in the background still the shapely Pentlands flashed white in the sunshine. It would be great to have a few more days of this, I am still holding my breath in the hope that this is now really spring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.