Sunset behind Loch Linnhe and the Isle of Mull

The sun finally broke through the cloud cover this afternoon. It had tried hard for much of the morning to no avail, once the incessant rain had ceased and the wind died down. I kept looking out through the windows across the loch following the birds swimming about on the tidal currents which the flat water surface revealed. I watched a swan swim for about half a mile up towards the entrance to the loch, wondering why it didn't fly and then realising that it was content to paddle slowly with the tide race.

When the forecast sun began to shine I drove up the coast road northwards past Benderloch, Barcaldine, Creagan and Appin and stopped at the roadside view over Loch Linnhe towards the famous Castle Stalker on an islet close by the mainland. By now most of the clouds had cleared and the russet coloured landscape was looking beautiful in the autumnal light. But it wasn't ideal for photography as the low sun was directly behind the view I wanted to photograph. Nevertheless it still was magnificent to be standing on the edge of the West Highlands looking across the various sea lochs to the Ardnamurchan peninsular directly beyond and the Isle of Mull in the far distance.

I then drove around to the Appin peninsular where I knew I would get better pictures of Castle Stalker with the sun behind me. By the time I left the sun was beginning to set, because in the these higher latitudes the day are beginning to get much shorter. Driving back past the Creagan Inn, I remembered that we'd seen a couple of otters swimming in the sea there some years ago and I wished I could see them again. I always imagine they might just pop their heads out of the water at any time in these regions.

Just after the pub I started to cross over the recently constructed bridge over Loch Creran which now provides a much needed short cut. I'd turned a bend in the road and seen the sun setting across the loch with the big hills of the Isle of Mull in the far distance. I couldn't resist stopping on the bridge to take more pictures. In the end I've decided to blip the sunset today, as this will remind me so much of the light in this wonderful landscape. The small boat's approach added a bit of context to the scene.

I have tried to add a couple of the other pictures of Castle Stalker to my Blipfolio, but for some reason the edit tools have disappeared. I have made enquiries of Blip Central so I will have to wait to hear from them, but will add them asap.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.