Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Red and green

A forecast of showers throughout the day meant I had to choose my time propitiously to get out and take my photos.

I set out beneath a leaden sky and decided it would be best to fire off a few early shots on my walk in case the heavens opened. This photo of the red bricks and leaves was my second subject of the day. Sure enough, 15 minutes later it began to rain and I headed for home.

But worse was to follow. I had fired off about seven or eight shots of the bricks, I have to using a manual focus lens in the absence of any split prisms in the viewfinder of DSLRs. And I learned early on not to trust the AF confirmation light.

I don't know whether my eyes are going but when I downloaded the shots on the computer not a single one of them was in focus. The other shots I had taken subsequently were not really worthy of posting here.

The rain eventually stopped and I decided that there was nothing for it but to retake the shot of the bricks. It was only two blocks round the corner from where I live, so within 10 minutes I would be done and dusted.

On the second attempt, after concentrating really hard, three out of the eight shots were absolutely spot on.

That's the problem with being a dinosaur and insisting that I pursue my photography like the days of old. When will I ever learn?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.