Life Savors

By osuzanna

Patterns

Last night we received a phone call from our 2nd youngest son just after midnight. You know what that does to you…. that dreaded late night call. Fortunately, he had good news. He had just received an email that he had passed the New York State Bar examination. Needless to say, we were elated. It was exactly 1 year ago on this day that my husband and I were sitting in a cafe in Paris having breakfast, when we received a message from our youngest son that he had passed the NY State Bar examination. The chronology is confusing, I know. It is because the youngest one decided to go to law school a year before the 2nd youngest.

I remember it exactly because both times it was on my mother’s birthday (what would have been her 100th and 101st). I know she would be very proud of their "pattern" of success.

My mother was a two-time breast cancer survivor. She developed breast cancer when she was 51 and again at 59. Surgical intervention both times cured her and she lived to be 85 years old.

This image was taken with my macro lens as I tried out the Nikon to Sony adaptor. It's not the best photo, but it will do for today. Please excuse my feeble attempt to make it pink. We are about to go out for dinner to celebrate our boys' success and drink a toast to my mother.

October Word Challenge: Pattern

Breast Cancer Awareness Month

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.