Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Treasure

In doing some sorting out of things today, one of the boxes we unpacked and sorted contained this jewellery box. It was one of the things I really wanted to keep when we broke up The Mother's bungalow in August and has been packed ever since along with my own jewellery boxes while we decorated.

I was delighted to see it again. My Nan bought it as a birthday present for The Mother when I was quite young. When you lift the lid it plays Tchaikovsky's Swan Lake - The Finale. As a child I loved ballet. I collected books about ballet and my first record token was spent on a Swan Lake EP including this track. The Jewellery box is too sophisticated to have a little twirly ballerina inside!

I have edited the image to enhance the inlaid abalone and the rich colours of the paint on the black lacquered surfaces. I must find out how I can safely restore the shine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.