What's that noise?

Last night I was sure I heard bagpipes. It was quite faint and given the fact I am several thousand miles away from Scotland I dismissed it as my mind playing tricks. Perhaps reflecting a deep desire to be home. Or the need to clear out my ears which I did this morning in the shower.

Tonight I heard it again. This time it couldn't be dismissed.

To be clear, I don't think the invention and playing of the bagpipes represents a positive contribution from Scotland to civilisation. But I did not expect to hear it in Oman so it needed to be investigated. I followed the sound.

It led me to the opera house across the road where there were all sorts of military bands / choirs rehearsing for some form of performance. It seemed to be some form of tattoo. Bagpipes were prominent amongst them, including as part of a fairly large female military band. Well, there's something I didn't expect.

The music for the dance troupe in the blip was played largely by the bagpipes. Another cultural fusion of which thee are many out here.

Just the occasion for the hand-held-night setting on my camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.