weewilkie

By weewilkie

dog biscuits for crows, monkey nuts for squirrels

At lunchtime I went for a walk in Alexandra Park. The sun suddenly appeared and a skip and a step later I passed it beaming through this fence and blue netting. I found it immediately appealing and have learned to trust the instinct to look twice at something as a sign of worthiness.

So I snapped then walked further along the park to be approached by a woman walking a dog and being followed by a murder of crows and a ... eh .. nutcase of squirrels. She looked like Snow White after she entered the forest. All the animals were attracted to her. They surrounded her. Followed where she led. Some crows even flapped up to her and dunted her on the head, which left her utterly unfazed.

Intrigued I approached her and found that the secret was that she came to the park at least twice daily and her right pocket was filled with dog biscuits for the crows, in her left were monkey nuts for the squirrels. She had quite the gang of groupies.

"These crows are better fed than some weans about here," she chuckled as she threw biscuit after biscuit to them. I told her that all this feeding was making me hungry and I said my goodbyes and headed off to buy my own lunch.

Chicken eggs for the human. That was my lunch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.