The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Easy as...

Today was my day off. I was staying in a 'fancy' hotel with a massive bed, A/C, a fridge and hot shower (still only £11) and I spent a fair amount of the day in bed resting.

In the evening I went to a place recommended by the trek guide to have Khao Soi (the northern curry I made in the cooking class). It was only 80p and got me thinking about how cheap life can be here (especially when you don't buy alcohol). On Friday I'm moving to a nice central bungalow with a fan for only £4 a night.

Later I went to a local bar called Edible Jazz which has live acoustic music every night. It has such a great atmosphere that I'll be back regularly. When it closed at midnight, everyone moved to another bar slightly out of town to see a fun reggae band. When they finished at 1am, I called it a night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.