youngies journey

By youngie66

Branch Line Memories

The wee small hours again this morning and I'm sitting on home turf so to speak as I'm stopped at Haymarket Central Junction coming down from Gorgie Junction after leaving Portobello depot and traveling around the Edinburgh Surburban Circle to keep my route retention up on this diversion, home turf you ask yes well as a kid of around 8 growing up I lived just to the left of the train next to the North British Distillery and I used to sneak up onto the embankment almost every day to watch the trains going by, there used to be a signal box right at the back of my train and to the right between where the lines split to go to Haymarket West Junction I would sit and dream away that one day I would be a Train Driver now forty years later and 25 of those as a driver I still love the job and this section of line has so many memories as me and my mates had a gang hut dug into the embankment to the left which was pretty secluded I wonder if it has been filled in or just caved in as it went in about seven feet with some help from some older lads to help stabilise it from collapsing maybe one day it will be rediscovered like some old World War 1 trench hmm who knows but I will say some shenanigans went on in it for sure lol, ahh the memories come flooding back, so anyway this was me around 06:20am this morning after getting out my bed at half three for a quarter to five start so after sitting here for fifteen minutes I got the signal to head into Waverly to make the 07:00am service south which I drove to York for an hour before driving a service north to Newcastle for another hour before my final drive back to Edinburgh and all went to plan on another day of much dampness around the network.
so it was a great day and I stuffed my face with a takeaway from across the road from the house for my tea, so this is my blip for the day and movie for the day is this TV movie "Love On A Branch Line 1993" looks nice BIG as always See Ya

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.