Graceful solitude...

What a beautiful day it's been! And I've had my very own Autumnwatch experience!!

A grey start to the day, but by the time I arrived at Dyrham Park, on the edge of the Cotswolds, to meet up with a couple of old friends, the sun had got his hat on and had come out to play. I've visited Dyrham Park many, many times, but I never tire of wandering around the 270 acres of ancient parkland, where a historic herd of fallow deer roams freely, with magnificent trees and breathtaking views to be found in every direction.

We set off for a bracing walk to work up an appetite and soon came across the deer herd, where the stags were in full Autumnwatch rutting mode, the noise they made was very impressive! Walking down to the spectacular late 17th-century mansion, the Autumn colours were glorious and it was so warm that we were able to have lunch outside again, incredible for the end of October!

After lunch, and a good old natter, we wandered around the gardens where this beautiful swan was gliding gracefully around the pond. On each of my visits to Dyrham this year, this swan has been on his/her lonesome.

Knowing that swans mate for life, it breaks my heart to see this lonely swan who at some point has lost its partner...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.