The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Steve Hackett - Live At St David's Hall

Yet another gig!

We went deep into the lands of prog tonight .. and to be honest, halfway through The Fountain of Salmacis I did wonder if there was a way back!

Tonight was our wedding anniversary treat night, having had a nice meal in the house on Tuesday night on our actual anniversary, tonight was dinner date evening.

We went to Carter & Miller for the first time since it opened next door to Saint David's Hall. We had a cracking meal of sirloin steak and a random wedge of iceberg lettuce. Not sure what that was all about!

We had a nice bonus when Mostly Autumn (or parts of them) opened the gig. I presumed it was Steve Hackett all night with a break in the middle. We missed Heather Finley's set at Trinity Live as we were getting a Kebab!

I should explain to my younger readers who Steve Hackett is .. Hackett was the guitarist in Genesis in the early days when Peter Gabriel was still in the band. In fact, Hackett left the band the album after Gabriel did. As Genesis no longer play anything outside the Phil Collin's era, Hackett took it upon himself to be the curator of a very old museum of songs, as he put it.

It was a wonderful evenings musical entertainment. The singer was enigmatic and had enough Gabriel about him to please most people. The highlights for me were The Musical Box and Suppers Ready (I am always a sucker for a 20 minute plus song!).

Dawn (to my surprise) seemed to really enjoy the evening too. I am taking her to the Welsh Ornithological Conference next weekend .. I really know how to push my luck! ;o)

I have put some more photos from the night (taken with the WX7) on Flickr .. you can view them by clicking here if you so wish.

The set list for those who like such things was:

Dance On A Volcano
Squonk
Dancing With The Moonlit King
The Return Of The Giant Hogweed (see yesterdays blip!)
Fly On A Windshield
Broadway Melody of 1974
The Fountain of Salmacis
The Musical Box
I Know What I Like (In Your Wardrobe)
Horizons
Firth of Firth
Lillywhite Lilith
The Knife
Supper's Ready

Encores:

Watcher Of The Skies
Hackett Medley (Myopia/ Slogans)/ Los Endos

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.