Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Just some sponge...

A break from my usual wildlife shots ... atlhough technically speaking, sponges are living things. Well, these aren't, having been dried out and hung from a rope. But I digress.

Hubs and I went up to Tarpon Springs today which was excellent fun. The only slight drawback is that it was extremely windy and quite chilly. Consequently, we didn't wander quite as much as we might have if it had been less windy. Still, it was fun. This is one of the few places in the States where divers still harvest sponges from the ocean. Most of the "spongers" are Greek and the area is awash with Greek restaurants. We chose a place on the water called Dmitri's for lunch and it was wonderful. Grilled octopus to start followed by a Greek salad for me and Greek sausage for hubs. Very tasty. Worth a trip back, for sure.

Back home now where I think a nap may break out - what bliss to have an afternoon nap...

I took very few pics today, but did post two others on Flickr if you'd care to have a peek...

A nervous crustacean
and
a heavily edited shrub

Thank you for sending my diving peli into the spotlight yesterday - what a lovely surprise to see him on the front page!

Happy Saturday...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.