Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Ernst Adams

This afternoon I went to a 3-hour workshop on "Interactive Storytelling" at the campus. Ernest Adams, from the UK, is presenting workshops at the campus this week and tomorrow evening the college is hosting a fancy dinner/lecture at a local golf course country club for students, faculty, administrators, and folks in the community (for free).

This afternoon's workshop was especially for people who are not so much on the computer creation "gaming" side of the equation, as for people who might be interested in writing the stories for the games. Supposedly the "gaming" industry is expanding beyond the world of "blowing-up and killing everything" to new genres of computer games such as romantic comedies, soap operas, political thrillers.

I know zilch about the computer gaming world so this was all new for me. I found this man, Ernest Adams, very interesting and a good public speaker. He is an independent game designer, writer, and teacher, working with the International Hobo design group. He has been in the gaming industry since 1989, and is the author of four books, one is a textbook that has been adopted by MIT (which is serious recognition).

So this was "just a day" but if I don't blip about meeting this man, Ernest Adams, and attending his workshop, then 3 weeks, 3 months, or a year from now I won't remember it.

Tomorrow evening Mr. Fun and our daughter & son-in-law and I are all going to the dinner/lecture to learn about "The Future of Interactive Entertainment through 2050." After today's workshop, I'm looking forward to it.

Thank you to everyone for the wonderful comments on yesterday's page with the story about my mom. Your comments added value to my experience.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.