Orchid99

By orchid99

My bookblip - unadulterated pleasure !!

It's World Book Day today and I wanted to join the celebration of books.

The books in my photo are NOT the greatest books I have ever read, nor are they the books that have changed my life or altered history. I started off with a grand intention but then decided to celebrate the role of books in just giving sheer pleasure to life.

Stieg Larsson's "The girl who kicked the hornet's nest" is the last book that I finished for sheer relaxation. He was a Swedish "crusading author and liberal journalist" who died after delivering to his Swedish publisher the novels that are the Millenium Trilogy. Tragically, he didn't live to enjoy the phenomenon that his work has become......(from the cover and I totally agree).

Vikram Seth's "An Equal Music" just happened to fall into my hand when I went in search of another to feature. I LOVED this book and was so sad when I finished it.

And my third example isn't a book at all - it's this Summer's Verbier Festival Programme

Books - so important in my life, along with music (listening I'm afraid..not playing... I'm not good enough for that but it doesn't hold me back)

I forgot to put my iPod into the picture of my garden which is too cold to read in (yet) but it doesn't matter. Books don't need it .......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.