Orchid99

By orchid99

Staffordshire Dogs - the Potteries Museum

I went back to see the Staffordshire Hoard again - this time with my brother. We were early and lucky and only had to wait about an hour and a half.

While you wait, you process through the other sections of this excellent museum - the Ceramics (for which the Stoke on Trent area is famous and which gives rise to the name Potteries for the region), the Costume and other sections - and they were happy for me to take photographs.

I had quite a choice
a Japanese ship of fortune

a glorious dolls house

a classic Staffordshire figurine

a multi coloured ceramic toilet

or the one I finally chose - a Staffordshire Dog from the late 19th Century, usually sold in pairs. You can see the mould as part of the display.

Of course I recommend that you go to see the Staffordshire Hoard (returning to the Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery from March 13th) but if you are ever in the Stoke on Trent area, the Potteries Museum is very well worth a trip

- and they do excellent carrot cake in the cafe !





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.