2011 photo resolution

By karenanya

Out of the blue

Usual trip into London today and was dealing with emails, website rewrites and the normal Monday frenzy. At 10.30, I was called me in the Directors office where the CEO was waiting. I was told that my job was at risk and that my employment would end in one week's time. My first consultation meeting was planned for 90 minutes later.

I left my desk and went outside to get some fresh air, escape the office (where others were unaware of what had happened) and read this letter more carefully. I phoned husband and let him know - he could tell something bad had happened as soon as he heard my voice.

Still in shock, I went back to the office and noticed that one of my colleagues was missing from her desk. Sure enough she'd had the same treatment. We went out for some coffee and to digest what had just happened. It turned out that nearly 20 people got the chop that day.

The first meeting was just the legal basic meeting. I was told that I didn't need to come in again unless it was for the remaining two meetings. We met up with with my boss in Fitzroy Square for a chat (she'd been unaware of what was going to happen too) and then I headed home.

As the tube train stopped at Paddington, an elderly lady with loads of bags and a large backpack tried to get off but slid like an overturned turtle to the ground. I helped her get up and picked up her luggage so we could get off the train. I helped her to the main station, found her train and helped her on to it with her heavy bags. It was heading in my direction so there was no worry about it leaving with me on it. She asked what I did and where I was going. I told her that I'd got all the time in the world after my news. She asked my name, shook my hand and wished me all the best.

Got home and then began to worry about what comes next.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.