Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Strasbourg - Eglise St Paul

Another beautiful day here in Strasbourg, and again, many miles covered on foot! This morning I walked around from one end of the city to the other, visiting this beautiful church, Église Saint-Paul de Strasbourg. It is in the Gothic revival style and was built between 1892-97 for the Lutheran members of the Imperial German garrison. On a Sunday all the shops are closed here and church bells were pealing across the city all morning. Luke was studying all morning and then met me before lunch, and we walked all over the city trying to find a sushi bar - finally found one that was open and had a lovely sushi lunch. We then visited the Museum of Modern Art, which is housed in a wonderful bright building with big coloured stained glass windows - the art was very good too.

Luke went back to study and I walked a fair distance to see the European Parliament buildings, which are very modern and in such contrast to the old architecture of the city. I wandered through Parc de l'Orangerie which is a pretty park with a small zoo that is free to the public. The stork nests can be seen in the park as there is a stork centre there, the stork being famous in Alsace. I got lost going back to my hotel so ended up walking more than I should have - but I finally found my way back and then met Luke for an early supper.

If you would like to see more images of this beautiful city, have a look here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.