LightWave

By LightWave

From the Garden

A heavy frost is predicted for tonight, so I decided that today had to be the day for the final harvest. I pulled up the carrots (always fun!), popped a pleasing number of Brussels sprouts from the stem, cut down the the Swiss chard, liberated the parsnips from their earthly home and yanked out the unwilling leeks (they tried desperately to cling on).

Some vegetables taste much better when they are fresh from the garden, others don't seem much different from store bought. Carrots are definitely in the first category. We ate them with dinner tonight (steamed then tossed with butter and parsley) - they were sweet and delicious with a complexity of flavour that I've never detected in supermarket carrots. I really wish that I'd planted more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.