Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

The Work of Their Hands - Aunt Doris

Dear Diary,

The final in the trinity of mother figures I have had in my life. Aunt Doris was the Mother of my teen and adult years. She was an amazingly talented lady. A fabulous painter as well as masterful seamstress. She taught me everything I know about sewing. I made a lot of my own clothes as a teen...sometimes buying fabric on Thursday after school and making a skirt to wear to school on Friday!

I lived with Aunt Doris when I was in graduate school at Harvard in the late 1970's. I so loved living with this creative and wonderful woman. We would talk at the kitchen table for hours and share so many things. She wanted to give me something for my graduation and I told her to just make me some little thing. This dear pink teddy was what she so lovingly sewed for me. I cherish it.

I believe my aunt shaped the final version of "Me". She gave me my intense love of museums and travel. Each of us are built by the relationships we have with significant people in our lives. In this month of giving thanks, I am very thankful for my dear Auntie.

Only an aunt can give hugs like a mother, keep secrets like a sister and share love like a friend. - Pearl White

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.