20s Plenty

Today my blip was nicely set up for me by a friend who’s a bicycle aficionado. Here I am modelling a 1920s Triumph Gloria ladies loop frame bike, single speed, 28 " wheels. It has been carefully restored by him to a fully functional bike by being stripped down, cleaned and reassembled. I was intrigued by the perforations on the back mudguard that allowed a cloth guard to be attached to prevent the lady’s skirt getting caught up in the spokes. Changed days! I could not reach the saddle on this monster but my friend jumped on and gave me a demonstration of its road-worthiness.

On 7th September I pictured my Ridgeback single speed bike beside the cycle sculpture on the Forth and Clyde canal. This 20s bike was not quite on that scale but it was certainly heavy! There must have been some strapping women around in those days! If you fancy owning this vintage bike my friend from Carnoustie is open to all offers. Just let me know!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.