The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Soup For The Soul

Creating soup on a chilly day is relaxing for me. Chopping up vegetables, sauteing onions and garlic with fragrant chicken sausage, seasoning with Herbes de Provence and adding a splash or two of wine, I can't help but run outside to toss the bean and tomato cans in the recycling bin, in exchange for the aroma of the simmering goodness in my kitchen.

Soup is something that triggers memories in one's mind and soothes the soul. The conflation of flavors brings comfort and happiness to even the most difficult of days.

Today was upsetting, with a tragic fire displacing my brother's family, and many cherished possessions lost to water damage. No lives were lost, but the event made me uneasy and sad.

I threw myself into work on our new home, and decided to make soup. Even now, the air is wondrous, and brings about pleasant reflection as I relax by the fire, the sounds of Tchaikovsky whirling through the air.

Thanksgiving is a few weeks away, with Christmas soon after. It's the time of year to be giving and appreciative of our blessings.

I suggest a nice bowl of soup and a prayer for those not as fortunate as ourselves.

It's good for you.

Much love,

Mel

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.