Sorry, The Boathouse Again...

... but the other orientation this time!

I haven't blipped it in portrait mode before and it's a while since I've blipped the boathouse. The real reason I hurried down here, when I realised the morning was misty, was that I wanted to have a good quality raw image similar to my best seller. At the moment the jetty is completely under water, only the two end posts show.

Having had three upgrades of camera since I blipped that memorable morning I had high hopes. BUT I should have known: weather and light are so unpredictable. We arrived to find the lake covered in thick mist and three other photographers already lined up along the road with their cameras and tripods. The immediate shots I took had the boathouse also shrouded in mist.

To get what I thought would be a better image, I got out the ND filters. I wanted to smooth out the rippled water. By the time I was ready the breeze causing the ripples had blown away the near mist and my images were left with a very unnatural, over-processed look.

Isn't over-processing the norm for me, you say? Well, maybe, but it was quiet tranquillity I wanted today. There was no lady in a pink dressing gown slamming doors today, (I still tell people about her!) but there was a quiet gentleman on the verandah in some of my shots.

The Mother was wide awake when I visited tonight and had some interesting stories to tell about where she (imagined) she had been yesterday. I smiled and showed interest as she had obviously had a nice time with her late sister.

Such a roller-coaster!




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.