SueScape

By SueScape

7 weeks to go ...

... to Christmas. So the lady in the candle shop told me today. Yikes! Will this mistletoe survive the festivities?

After the last infusion on Friday my BP went crazy, yo-yoing, and took a few days to settle down. The expected side effects have set in too, extreme fatigue, wibbly wobbliness and spaced out feeling. The nurses reminded me that intravenous high dose Vitamin C is a powerful treatment, not simply a supplement, and just as with chemo, a lot of rest is required to regain strength and stamina. I’ve tended to push myself to keep going, but after the scary weekend, it’s obvious I have to make allowances. And I had to take the decision not to complete the 15 infusions, but to stop at 13. Lots of people stop at 10, so I don't feel quite such a failure. I had been determined to complete the course but not at all costs. I can go back at any time for more, or wait for the test results in a month's time. It's a bit of a relief, really as I wasn't recovering in time for the next infusion.

But today I was feeling less spaced out and although weak, felt lunch out would be a treat. Prezzo’s with our trusty Taste Card which reduces the bill by half. Milland community café for tea after a drive looking at the glorious colours in our lovely county. The sunshine was amazing, and the temperature a bit more season-appropriate. Thoroughly enjoyed the golden moments.

Spotted this mistletoe just outside Milland. A bit surreal in the otherwise bare trees.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.