Nut Press

By katheastman

Dew, dew, dew

“I am a mushroom
On whom the dew of heaven drops now and then.”
― John Ford, The Broken Heart

I think this is a toadstool but I'm not entirely sure of the difference. A toadstool's commonly what we call the toxic funghi we can't eat. But, as I'm allergic to mushrooms, all funghi are toadstools to me!

I was up early today to put the bins and recycling out, and on my way back down to the house, I noticed there were some toadstools under the tree in our front garden.

So I did what any other person who's allergic to the things would do: I went inside, fetched my camera and crouched down (on a black bin liner, so that I wouldn't get soaked) to take some photos of them in the morning dew.

Although the neighbours are getting used to me pointing a camera at things, I managed to finish taking the pics just before they left for school or work, and before the bin men turned up, so that was a bit of a result.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.