Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Mourning Dove in Monochrome

Dear Diary,

I don't work as much with the black and white image as I did in the past but this mourning dove in the back yard seemed a perfect subject for the monochrome image. I adore my shy doves and their haunting call. It is a perfect accompaniment to the dark and drear morning today.

I've always seen the dove as a sweet and comforting creature. I found this passage on the site Pure Spirit that talks about the nature of various animals and I thought it quite beautiful...

The dove represents peace of the deepest kind. It soothes and quiets our worried or troubled thoughts, enabling us to find renewal in the silence of the mind. The dove’s singing is most prevalent when the veils between the physical and spiritual worlds are thought to be at their thinnest – first thing in the morning and last thing at night – again representing a link between two divergent domains.

Their call may be haunting but it is also incredibly soothing as well. They are a very welcomed addition to my back yard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.