Lucozade Is Not My Favourite Drink

So why was I drinking it today!

I had a glucose tolerance test this morning to check if I have become diabetic. This is the third time I've had to do it. Two years ago I was pre-diabetic but last year I was clear, thanks to Basil taking me for walks and a conscious effort to cut down on what I was eating.

For those who don't know the procedure, you have to fast for 12 hours before the first blood test, apart from water, then drink 410 mls of Lucozade. A second blood test two hours later shows whether the pancreas has produced enough insulin to cope with the sugar. The NHS doesn't pay for your Lucozade. It must be Original Lucozade and it must be a 500 ml bottle.

Not too traumatic. Len cooked me egg and bacon for lunch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.