River of Flowers

By doffy

Red Cabbage

Another day where I was able to go out into the garden, only for a couple of hours though.

I planted some garlic in cells in the greenhouse, collected more leaves from the Cabbage tree (to be used as fire lighters when they dry), finished pruning the pear tree, cut some dry branches up for kindling, made a bug hotel from an old plant pot filled with hollow stems and straw.

Today's blip is a red cabbage which was put to one side when I cleared the cabbage bed. I was pleased to see that the damage was just to the outer leaves and disposed of those into the compost bin - the centre is now being salted and tomorrow half of it will be pickled in cider vinegar and the remainder will become sauerkraut.

It's been a good week for garden produce: yesterday I picked the last cucumber, which was surprisingly tasty; I've picked two very small figs and a few more to come; a bowl full of tomatoes from clearing the plants are ripening nicely on the kitchen table and the kales and leeks are looking rather good too!

The rain stayed off until 5pm, blowing a gale but not too cold.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.