WHEN YOU KNOW.....

.....what is causing your pain, you look at it in a different way and Mr. HCB said I even walked differently!

Many of you will know I injured my right knee almost a month ago but I have tried not to major on this here on Blip - apart from making the odd reference to using "silver legs". I have been waiting for a referral to our local hospital, which has not materialised for various reasons, but following advice from Son number 1, I went this morning for a private physiotherapy appointment.

What excellent service I received. D, the young physiotherapist I saw was outstanding and I shall be writing to her Manager to tell her so.

When I got up this morning, after being awake for quite a long time in the night, partly because of the pain in my knee, but also because of the rain lashing on our bedroom window, I was rather anxious and apprehensive. I knew that an appointment with a physiotherapist might well mean that my leg was pulled around and I could be in pain afterwards.

However, D was kind, knowledgeable and very patient with me and after she asked me lots of questions and I gave her answers, she is pretty sure I have torn the cartilage in my knee. She explained everything in detail, showing me a model of a knee joint to explain what could have happened.

I have been exercising on my own, but have come away with more exercises to do, before another appointment in 2 weeks' time. She has recommended that I still use my "silver legs" when I go out for any length of time, although I don't need to use them indoors, but knowing more about the injury and what to do to alleviate any pain means that I am much less anxious.

This photograph of the sun shining through the raindrops on the window confirms to me that although there is pain now, I can look forward to seeing the sun again. For the last month, I have had more time to think, pray and reflect, without dashing around, as I normally do. As a lovely friend said to me when I visited her yesterday "God has His ways of making you slow down" and I have certainly done that.

“Pain insists upon being attended to.
God whispers to us in our pleasures,
speaks in our consciences,
but shouts in our pains.
It is his megaphone to rouse a deaf world.”
C.S. Lewis


A special thank you to all those who have sent good wishes to me in the last month - I am definitely on the mend - not sure I could run a marathon at the moment, but watch this space!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.