EvelyneNaylorC

By EvelyneNC

The Big Dipper - Der Grosse Baer or the Small one?

I am sitting here and am all excited. This picture might not look very grand to you as we all have been pampered by grandiose night photographs made by Sarumstroller and John Gravett or Horomaka. But it is my first star picture. Taken in the dark, couldn't see anything on the camera, as I forgot my flashlight. So, trial and error, discovery of a so far unknown feature of my camera for me..."bulb", which allows me to open the shutter as long as I want.
Woke up at 5 am because the bright big full moon shone into my face. It took me 20 minutes to really make the decision to leave my warm bed and then I went out to try to get a picture of this pale fellow in the sky. Strangely I needed a totally different setting to get it sharp from my first try in the beginning of this year (5.6/0.125 first time, 5.6/0/400 this time) A phenomenon that I don't understand. Full moon and clear sky is full moon and clear sky, right?
But there have been so many moons on blip this time that I tried to get the stars.
Different lens , different settings , and it worked :-)) The lighter part at the bottom right is coming from the street light.

See some more stars in Large...,if you like.
And: does anyone know why some stars appear red, when you take this kind of picture?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.