November Rain

And then the rains came. And it got colder out. All of which amounted to weather conditions that were less than hospitable: what my husband and I call "hypothermia weather." Once wet and chilled, it doesn't take long for the human body to become thoroughly miserable in such conditions.

A short break in the rain in the afternoon gave me the opportunity to grab my camera and get outside, even if only for a few minutes. (You've heard of seize the day; well, sometimes it has to be seize the moment, when the whole complete day just won't cooperate.) The colors on the trees still look lush and lovely in the rain; in fact, they almost seem . . . shinier. That's one of the neat things about autumn. The foliage colors give light to the day even when the conditions are dark.

I was happily snapping away, when, of course, it started to rain again. Taking one last look around, I spotted some yellow berries on a flowering crabapple tree, dripping with liquid jewels. I used my umbrella to shelter both the camera and myself while I snapped a few macro shots before heading back inside. Just a few minutes on this day for my camera and me and the golden dripping berries in the cold November rain.

The soundtrack: Guns N' Roses, November Rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.