Autumn Dreams

"Dream as if you'll live forever. Live as if you'll die today." - James Dean

The golden tree line that runs along the edge of the Arboretum is still in fine form, and I would embarrass myself if I told you how many times I've been there with my camera in the past two weeks, how many pictures I've taken. I showed you the little lane lined with these trees in my October 29 Blip, Glory Road, and I've been scheming to show you more of it ever since.

The prior shot was taken looking down the lane toward the President's house, with campus at my back. This time, I was standing with the President's house behind me, looking toward campus. The red building in the center of the shot is what I still think of as "the new business building," though it's been there for years now. It stands on the spot where Mitchell Building used to be, at the corner of East Park Ave. and Shortlidge, across the street from North Halls.

The colors in this shot suggest a warmth to the day that was not exactly present. In fact, the truth was that the day started out with a bitterly cold wind and bracing showers that turned my umbrella inside out the instant I got out of my car. But a half-hour later, the showers gave way to some sun, and the morning sky was a photographer's delight of dramatic shifting clouds.

By the time I got to the tree line, the sunshine was fully out, casting dappled light and shadows on the little wooden fence row. I stood amid the golden trees and took some shots; many, in fact. I'd like to say it was difficult, but the tree line suggests perfect shots at every step. The hardest part was finding a moment when there were no vehicles moving on East Park Ave. to disrupt my view, which is still much harder than it sounds.

It is early November, and while the colors have gone from many places now, I am still finding them around town and campus. Little sections of gold and red and orange. Leaves still on the trees, leaves on the ground. There is still color around, if you know where to find it. And every time I do, I am delighted! I take lots and lots of photos. I can't help myself. (In my ear, a voice whispers . . . Nothing gold can stay.)

I love autumn and its bright, cheerful colors. If I could pick one season to last forever, it might be this one. I would wish for the leaves to turn color and stay; for winter never to come. And so I capture this moment, I try to make it stay . . . just a girl with a camera, standing once more along the golden tree line - happy but a bit wistful - wrapped in the beauty of her own sweet autumn dreams.

The soundtrack: Bruce Hornsby, Till the Dreaming's Done, from the 1988 CD, Scenes from the Southside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.