weewilkie

By weewilkie

suddenly the sinking sun

Normal Friday. The kids heading home from work and their friend's house. My brother up for his tea. Chatting with him about this and that, when my living room wall ignites like a burning ember. I stop the conversation, go to the bay window and look west and sure enough there is the sinking sun beaming directly into my room. Suddenly my blip for today changes.

And a sadness pervades the room. We listen to songs of loss and longing. How the heart reaches for things it can never have. How the day turns regardless. Tints the afternoon golden. The glory of the dying day bathed in this golden light. All is lost: gloriously, perfectly lost.

I'll stop there. My heart seeps like a sodden sponge and I'm sinking into its warm seductive spill. Floating in amber dream.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.