weewilkie

By weewilkie

Hexham abstract

I'm down visiting my pals in their new home in Hexham, Northumberland. They've lived in the South West of England for as long as I've known them and it is normally a big event to visit them. Three weeks ago they flitted up to the North East and now they are just a hope and a skip across the border.

Hexham seems to be wonderful old town. We went into the Abbey for a nosey and there were the most amazing artifacts. A Roman gravestone we were able to get up close to and feel. A saxon stone throne that we could sit on. Here is the view I had from it.
The Abbey itself is grand and full of grace and quiet and light and was a great way to spend an afternoon out of the dreich weather.

Perversely, the photo that I responded to immediately was this one of an annex window shattered and framing the branches of a tree outside.

Okay, I'll leave it there. The gorgeous curry aromas are seducing me from my pal's cooking just opposite from where I'm typing. There is wine open. There is banter. There is nonsense. There is friendship come together again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.