Eunique

By eunique

Friday Sunset

Was on the shuttle bus with my dad, on our way back home from visiting Courts Mega Mall. Took several snaps with my phone-camera; the quality and clarity wasn't much to be hoo-haa-ed about, though I was quite glad with this shot it captured :)

___________________________________
Musings... on the use of the word "captured".

I was telling Shihui on the train 2 Wednesdays ago, that one day I was feeling mighty uncomfortable using the word "captured" when I meant 'took a picture of'.

'Capture' has such a forceful, selfish and negative connotation to it, that it seems just wrong when used in photography.

Sure, we can say the apeture 'captures' light in order to reproduce the image (just like how our retina captures light so we can see).. but it doesn't steal and store-away a scene that is before our eyes.. I feel that photography is more simply like freeze-framing the moment so that the beauty and/or reality of it could be reproduced and shared with others..

..isn't it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.