An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Remember, remember, the 5th of November!

I would love to say that I feel as sparkly and effervescent as these fireworks but I am amongst friends (and WHAT friends!!), who stood beside and behind me during my little (or big!) emotional "Blip"...

How can I thank everybody for the 85 Hearts for 'that' Stonehenge Blip, that overtook the already craziness of my previous best? I can't individually, but thank you ALL.

But Blip and Blipping that night had got just a bit mental and I had really overdone myself, both physically and emotionally getting the shot but also from putting myself and my valuable equipment at great risk and making a vulnerable me even more vulnerable. I only had 30p in my pocket that night, yet still ten miles from home. Nothing in my wallet and found that due to fraud, I wouldn't have been able to get any cash out or pay a taxi driver in an emergency. According to the cash machine I was £99 in credit (a lot for me) but due to pending payments, the amount I had access to was a minus figure.

It wasn't until the next day and online found that some nice ******* had renewed their car insurance using my debit card, which had never been out of my sight or possession. Three small direct debits had been 'bounced' to make for this massive payment and of course, all these incur 'fees' from the bank. And of course, it was all timed beautifully in that I was not due any more receipts for several days.

Yes, after late-night frantic phoning the bank agreed it was fraud and that I would get a refund, but the card would be stopped. A new one wouldn't get to me until today and having no other cards or cheque book, wasn't able to get ANY cash out or make any payments online or in store. So, yes, a frantic and manic time that really had myself questioning, well, everything...

But I didn't have to doubt the loyalty of my Blip friends. Despite not posting for 4 days I'm still second 'most popular' behind Max and even with new subscribers today!

My Blip activity will have to be (a lot?) less now, at least for a while. It was great to actually watch and enjoy long and foreign subtitled films and to actually use some of my Netflix subscription.

I DID promise you all a firework capture at some point and this is a local effort, in a field! You can the house outlined in the foreground. Several bursts have built up over the 8 second exposure that the shutter was open for.

I won't go mad this evening with comments and catching up etc but just to say 'thanks', again.

Lens is Nikkor G 85mm f1.8

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.