An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Pigeons in Flight

Seaside pigeons

Piles and piles of pigeons

Flapping hectically.

A sudden massed swarm of blurred wings

Just moving from one rooftop

to another.


Unlike the gulls,

They do not fly out to sea,

the pigeons only feed off us

But not from me...

I’m selfish – and greedy -

and MY sandwiches are MINE! See!



I SO wanted to title this ‘A Flock of Seagulls’, after the 1980’s British synth band. But I’d both be misleading as well as showing my ignorance if I’d have had. No pop group in history has ever been called ‘A Flock of Pigeons’ though. At least not as far as I know...

As you could see from the previous day’s November the 5th fireworks Blip I was still taking pictures and on Thursday it was no different. One of the most annoying aspects of the card fraud and no access to money was that I still had a few days on the weekly bus ticket I had bought – I could get to places but no cash for coffees or other vital essentials. Now that the cold weather is here, this is even more important.

Though I was definitely on a Blip break it was Thursday and that meant Derelict Thursday Challenge. I still had no idea then whether I was going to be hosting it that week, at that point. Getting up early and making my way down to Bournemouth, I was in a tired, glazed daze. I naturally, as always meandered down to the sea and onto the Pier. It was open, a supremely bright early light but bloody cold with a keen wind whipping through fleece and jeans. I was about the only one on there.

Scouting with the Sigma 105mm macro lens, I loitered on objects and details in a fairly relaxed manner. The sort of laid back photo excursion we all enjoy. Then, a big flapping noise swooped and swept across. Instinctively I raised up the camera and shot. This was that shot. I think I must have had it on manual focus and on infinity, at the time.

I like this for being an artistic impression of the pigeons. Some sharply etched outlines, others soft blobs. This is the full frame and miraculously I didn’t have to level the photo as I have a big thing about straight seas! I added some warmth to make it look more attractive but little else.

But this is what Blipping – and photography – is all about. Taking the rough with the smooth and making the most of the bits you like the most. Go with your heart. If you add realistic optimism and believe in something then you’ll feel all the better for it and others will too.

I was down on the Pier for nearly an hour. I had extracted the higher value coins from the loose change coffee jar at home and so an (expensive) excellent coffee from one of those independent trendy coffee shops – the sort run by bearded students and with old bikes and gramophone players and other curios. By this point I was too tired and solemn to fully appreciate these surroundings or to grab a quick snap of it. So, not a wasted journey but a disappointing one.

Thanks SO much for ALL the Favourites on the last two Blips - 130 between them! I know, amazing and amazing - and really quite amazing, really! I won't be able to thank you individually I'm afraid, but thanks again.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.