Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

Remembrance

After the rains of yesterday it was dry and bright morning with a hint of mist. I decided I would go for a bike ride as I've not been out on the bike for a couple of weeks due to the darker evenings and several weekends away.

It was lovely ride and I was toasty in my new cycling gear.

After I got home I had time to shower and change and then I walked back into the village centre in time for the Remembrance Ceremony at the war memorial. I decided to do this, not only to commemorate the fallen service personnel, and the 100th Anniversary of the outbreak of WW1, but in a small way to remember my Granddad. He always made the effort to go to the Remembrance Service at church back home, until last year when he was in hospital, and sadly passed away on the morning of Remembrance Sunday.

I took this picture of part of the memorial before the service started and I liked how the sun was just catching the plaque.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.