Of rich and royal hue..

By mintlawquine

Lest we forget

The war memorial in Bannockburn, a few minutes after this morning's Remembrance Day service, after those attending had left their wreaths and crosses behind. My granny lost her first husband, Thomas Yuill, from Falkirk in the Great War. He died at the Battle of the Somme and is buried in France at Thiepval. She lost her only son, my uncle whom I never knew, in the Second World War, when he was 22. His name is engraved on the 1939-45 section of this same memorial. She never spoke to me of either of these tragic events, I suspect it would have been too painful.

My little granddaughter placed a cross this morning at the memorial in Mintlaw on behalf of her school. Quite an honour and responsibility for a five year-old. We are all so proud of her. I hope and pray she will not suffer the consequences of war like her great-great granny did.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.